Skip to content

C – Friday Fictioneers – Spinet 6

22 January, 2016

Greetings Fridayphiles! Yes, it’s the traditional end of the working week (for us lazy desk jockeys who do jobs so unimportant that we can take two days off without the world ending or even noticing) and also the traditional weekly gathering of the Ancient Tribal Fellowship of the FriFicers. Every Wodensday, our High Priestess Rochelle festoons our inboxes with pictoral offerings and in return we each create 100 words of fiction and gather at the Meeting Place to share our works. This week’s pic

hh-spinet

from Rochelle’s High Consort set me of on a road to imaginary times past. And then, as this year is the 400th anniversary of the death of The Bard (and because I wondered if I could) I rewrote my piece into iambic pentameter. And still came in (if you ignore the names) at exactly 100 words.

Feel free to comment in the box provided, and in spirit of the ConCrit Subgroup, I welcome nay encourage your criticisms.

 

MAN:
Forsooth, the young today know not their fortune;
See! Two approach – we eavesdrop on their musings…

YOUTH 1:
The talk of Spinet 6 o’ertakes the village;
I await mine with anticipation.
My Spinet 5 has agèd o’er a twelve-month,
this model has become quite antiquated.
Good friend, will you request a sim’lar upgrade?

YOUTH 2:
Nay, good knave, I disregard the Spinet,
My preference is the Harpsichord, its rival.
‘Tis cheaper, and its wideheld reputation
For being user-friendly is deservèd

MAN:
Fie, Harpsichord! Fie, Spinet! Both be gone!
In youth my friends and I had no such trinkets.
With merely a recorder, we were happy!

 

 

 

14 Comments
  1. Ha! Ha! Some things never change.

  2. Dear RG,

    Merry. What a wealth of clever is this.
    Yay, entertained am I.

    Shalom,

    Herself, The High Priestess 😉

    • O Dearest High Priestess, your kindly words
      O’erwhelm and flatter this most humble scribe.
      With gratitude your comments I accept
      and I am proper glad you liked my tale.

  3. See how the music’s captured, caught
    in silicon, compressed, delivered bought.
    Yet, fingers itch for spinets and the lute.
    in blackout the recorded song is mute

  4. I feel like the “man” in this. Give me an old time VCR and a tape deck…. Well done, good sir.

  5. Brilliant and very funny. I thought, when reading, they could talk about smartphones and whatnot… and the last line of MAN had me LOL. C–only praise for cleverness and execution. 🙂

  6. This is wonderful – a really funny, clever idea. I love the pace and rhythm of it.

  7. Things are upgrading so fast I’m left in the dust. I haven’t completely caught up yet. Well done, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

