Skip to content

WnotIP will soon be IP again

29 April, 2016

I was riding my bike to work this morning when from nowhere, two words of dialogue sprang into my head. The words are spoken by a road accident victim to the police on the scene, but their true meaning isn’t understood until much much later when they become a vital axis on which the plot turns. Because the double meaning would be so important, I don’t want to reveal what those two words are. Sorry. And I don’t have a road accident plot on the go at the moment but like any half decent writer I decided to file the words away on my cerebral back burner for later.

Skip forward half an hour. From nowhere, the answer to a plot problem in my WIP hit me. And I mean hit me. I wobbled a bit from the shock of its sudden arrival, and its obviousness obviosity. I have made no progress at all with my current WIP for a good four months or so, because I haven’t been able to complete my world building in a satisfactory way. One particular aspect just wouldn’t fall into place and although I have considered allowing this to remain a mystery – maybe have the characters wonder among themselves about this issue and not be able to explain it – that wasn’t good enough, I needed to know. But now I have the answer. Even if I never reveal to the reader or the characters why this phenomenon keeps happening, I am massively relieved that I have answered it for me.  So progress can now continue.

And not even five minutes had passed before I remembered (how had I forgotten?) that this WIP contains a road traffic accident. Not just contains one, it’s a MASSIVE plot point that brings the two main characters together. Neither of them are the victim and I had never really thought much about the victim because (a) I was concentrating on the other two characters and where it takes them, and (b) I assumed the victim died. But what if the victim didn’t die? What if s/he speaks those two words of dialogue that were delivered to me from the Ideaverse earlier? Whole new direction, whole new dimension, whole new characters.

So today is a big today. In the space of  half an hour I solved one major world-building issue and spawned an entire subplot that I had no idea existed. I have a lot of work to do – a lot of planning and thinking have been done but only about 5000 words of actual writing created – and I now have the inspiration and the drive to do it. I don’t know where the new subplot might lead me, but I will enjoy finding out and seeing where I end up.

 

From → Blogging, Writing

Leave a Comment

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

