Skip to content

Choon Choosday: The Beat – Tears Of A Clown

31 May, 2016

Oh how naive I was back in those days. I had no idea who Smokey Robinson was in 1979 when this came out so didn’t know the history of the song. Neither did I have the slightest clue who Pagliacci was so I had no chance when it came to working out the lyrics from listening to the charts on a Sunday night.

Years later, I heard the original and thought it was a classic but that The Beat had done a better job. Does the fact I heard this cover by The Beat first mean that I was destined to like it more? Is it down to my 80s upbringing and my love of all things Ska that predispose me to prefering the cover? Or is it – objectively speaking – simply a better version? I can’t answer these questions but I can assure you it’s a

 

choooooooooooonn!!

 

From → Choon Choosday, Music

2 Comments
  1. It appeared first on the first ever album I bought to practice my Motown moves – called “Make it Happen” in 1967 – I didn’t think too much of the track until it was released as a single in the charts in 1970. I did not know that Stevie Wonder challenged Smokey Robinson to write the lyrics to his piece of music until I just checked on the date to write this. You learn something every day – and yes it is perfectly okay to discover a track when there is a cover version.

    • Wow, i had no idea that Stevie Wonder had written the music either. I can’t believe that’s never come up! Thanks for telling me, that will come in handy in a pub quiz one day no doubt 🙂

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

