Skip to content

Choon Choosday: Orbital – Impact (live)

28 June, 2016

It was Glastonbury festival during the weekend just gone – the biggest and most famous music festival in the world. Personally I’ve never been tempted to go. There is no appeal for me in paying £150 a ticket (or whatever it costs) to be knee deep in mud and watch Coldplay or Lionel Richie perform 200 yards away, but now and again a band I really love plays the main stage. Orbital are one of those bands and they always smash it. Here is a clip from their first appearance back in 1994. It’s a legendary set, and Impact is one of many highlights. That breakdown around 7:00 followed by the MASSIVE acid eargasm is one of the high points of all music ever. Well, I think it is anyway. At the very least, it’s a

choooooooooooooonn!!

 

From → Choon Choosday, Music

4 Comments
  1. This takes me back to my raves in the 80s. I agree with you I have never gone to Glastonbury – I prefer it a bit more civilised these days more due to my age. I tape all the live Glastonbury coverage though and watch that on a lazy Sunday. Our youngest is aged 20 and she is in Croatia at the Hide Out Festival now. It is lovely how she and her boyfriend love all the acid house and garage I used to listen to then and download some great stuff for me. Might go along to the Victorious Festival in Portsmouth that’s about as dangerous as I get nowadays.

    • It’s my pleasure to transport you back to those crazy days! Although I remember the acid and rave music from those days I wasn’t a fan back then so missed out on all the allnight parties. But I have seen the error of my ways now and absolutely love the music. I did get to Homelands a few times when that was in Winchester, which was great as it was only one day/night so no camping. And I’ve been to Sonar in Barcelona twice and in Reykjavik just this year – awesome festivals if you like your electronica and all indoor so no weather issues. Plus they are in cities (two of the most beautiful cities in the world) so accomodation is hotels and hostels – again no camping 🙂
      You must link me some good tunes (or start a rival Choon Choosday series 🙂 ) i love discovering stuff i haven’t heard!
      Oh and Victorious does look like a good festival but being a born and bred Saint I don’t go to the PO postcode area so it’s off limits for me!

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

