Skip to content

New job nerves

27 July, 2016

It’s been nearly two weeks since I left the job I had been doing for the last ten years. In the end I was sad to go, even though I had been hating it for about the last six of those years, because there were some people there I actually liked. Not many of them, and none of them were I my immediate team, but nevertheless there are some I will miss. Plus of course I am ridiculously insecure and stepping away from a job I knew backwards was an enormous leap outside of my very narrow comfort zone. It’s an industry I haven’t worked in before, in fact it’s public sector which is also something new, the role and the job title are things which I have no experience of, and the many different IT systems I will need to train on are all new to me. I was amazed I even got an interview, never mind the job – which has the word “senior” at the front of the title, despite me knowing virtually nothing about how to do it – so yeah, you could say I was feeling a bit nervous.

It also happens that last week when I started was one of the busiest weeks of the year so nobody really had any time to show me very much, and my boss works over 200 miles away and I won’t see her till next week, so I am on my own, reading as many procedural documents and manuals as I can, familiarising myself with software layouts and data tables, whilst trying to remember everyone’s names, the geography of a building that everyone says takes months to really understand, and desperately looking not completely blank when anyone asks me anything at all. I had leave already booked over the weekend so I have worked exactly five days but I do feel it is starting to make some sort of sense.

My new boss’s boss said, when I met her, that it would take anything up to six months to get up to speed, so I am clinging to that to prevent me stressing, and it is working. I was copied in an email by way of introducing me to a colleague, with a note saying I was new so wouldn’t be able to offer any solid guidance or advice “for a few months”. In a strange way, I found this reassuring. Yes I am “senior” and yes I got a massive pay rise with the job, but it is understood that I need to bed in. They knew this from the moment they read my CV, knew this from the answers I gave at interview, but they still had enough faith to take me on.

I need to learn to also have that faith in me.

From → Blogging, My Head

4 Comments
  1. All experience is good experience – just be yourself – you obviously have something they need and were the best candidate! Yes have faith in yourself.

    • thanks for reading and commenting… tbh this was just a brain dump more than a post and i didnt really expect anyone to read it. It is very unlike me to have faith in me, but for once – underneath thet nerves – i do. i know i can do this.

  2. You are going to do great! How do I know it’s? Because you have courage. Courage comes first. Confidence comes later. Be encouraged.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

