Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Cafe

5 August, 2016

Yep, you’re right – it’s Friday.

As is traditional, Rochelle sent everyone a prompt pic

icon-grill-ted-strutz

which this week was taken by Ted Strutz. Each and every one of the billion writers worldwide who Fic on a Fri forged a 100-word tale posted them on their pages, and a link on Froggy Island.

My words are not that great this week, but here they are anyway.

 

The coffee shop is empty save for the girl at the counter and the man at the far corner table. He beckons me over.

“Don Filippe,” I say, approaching and bowing. He nods slowly, gestures to a chair he knows I will respectfully decline. “So I hear you’re looking for work.”

“Yes, Don Filippe.”

“Good. I need you to sit here, every evening, drinking espresso.”

My confusion must have shown.

“The police are suspicious of an empty Italian cafe,” he says. “But if I have a few customers, they won’t wonder what my real customers are drinking behind that door.”

 

 

 

14 Comments
  1. MrBinks permalink

    Sounds like a job I wouldn’t refuse!

  2. I really liked ” gestures to a chair he knows I will respectfully decline”

  3. What a job offer. Given how respectful he is, I guess he’ll take it. Great atmosphere, I can basically hear them talk.

  4. Oooo now that’s a job offer you can’t refuse!

  5. Dear RG,

    I love the dangerous subtlety of this story. Understated and powerful in my opinion. Less is more.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. I agree the subtlety is ominous.

  7. Don Filippe sounds like a wise and experienced man. He also sounds dangerous and most likely won’t be refused. Good writing, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

