Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Sewing

9 September, 2016

so it was like Wednesday yeah and like my phone starts like beeping and I’m like omigod is that an email and I looked and it was like an email from Rochelle who does that Frific thing and it was this week’s prompt pic

crook2

which this week was a like picture from Sandra Crook so I’m like omigod I’d better write like a hundred words cause I didn’t last week cause I was like super busy you know so this week I have managed to write a hundred words and you can read them if you want I’ll like post them below but make sure you visit like the Frog aswell cause like everyone else has posted their hundred words so you can like read them there.

 

Every time I visit my grandparents, Gran is at her ageing sewing machine. Her eyes are fading, she prefers the radio over the television; her hands are slowing, her fingers twisting. But she can still thread the needle first time. “I’ve been using it sixty years,” she says, “it damn near threads itself.”

Something new always needs altering, something old always needs stitching. And Grandad keeps the machine running, does any maintenance himself.

“Make do and mend,” they say, “that’s how we were raised.” That’s why the machine still runs after all this time. And why they are still together.

22 Comments
  1. Nice portrait of the older generation. The introduction was even more entertaining!

  2. Dear RG,

    Like I have to use like a telescope to like thread a needle these days. Make do and mend. That says a lot oft he old couple…a whole lot. Nicely painted verbal portrait. I’ll even forgive your introduction.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Sew, after all these years, it’s not the glue that keeps us together…
    it’s gran 🙂
    Nice.
    Randy

  4. Great last sentence… and I think a sewing machine is the closest thing to be indestructible… a little oil is all it needs.

  5. Comparing the benefits of a sewing machines to that of a well-maintained marriage is a great idea. Lovely story. But your intro: are you feeling quite well?

  6. I think I heard your introduction while I was queuing behind two girls at the supermarket check-out the other day. Loved it, and your story, of course.

    • some people can’t say like a whole sentence without like saying like? and making everything a like question? and it’s like so annoying?
      Thanks for reading and for your kind comments. And for your pic too

      • You wouldn’t be throwing shade at the awesomely random vernacular of today, would you?

  7. This, like totally reminds me of like, well, my grandparents. Jus’ sayin’.
    Thanks for a great story.

  8. Nice story, TRG. We all “seamed” to wax nostalgic this week. 😀

  9. Ah – this reminded me of my Nana.

  10. I just love how you stitched this all together ❤

  11. Enjoyable story, TRG. Those who went through two World Wars and the Great Depression got in the habit of making do. My parents were the same. Good writing. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • Thanks Suzanne. My Mum always had needles in her hands, whether she was knitting something new or mending something old. She grew up during WW2nd we didn’t have much when I was growing up, so I think that’s where this came from

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

