Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Late

21 October, 2016

Did I ever tell you about the time I accidentally got elected as Supreme Ruler on a small island in the middle of the Sargasso Sea? Or the day I spent playing aquasnooker with Mexican drug barons? Perhaps I have shared the story of the giant octopus that attacked the boat I was holidaying in and we were washed up on a Welsh beach and had to be rescued? No, I haven’t shared any of these tales, and sadly I never will, not on a Friday anyway, because they would take too many words to tell and it’s traditional that Queen Rochelle only allows us 100 to tell our stories.

This week’s prompt pic comes from loyal Frificer and award-winning novelist Claire Fuller

claire-fuller-8and literally millions of writers will compose a hundred words each and then give them to the Frog who will share them with anyone who pays a visit. Mine follow this brief intro. Feel free to read them and to write a comment.

 

 

I know I’m running late. She’ll laugh it off, say it’s fine, say she’s just a bit OCD about timekeeping, but I know she’ll be annoyed.

I adjust the conker, the last item on my shelf of oddments, and step away. I close my eyes, breathe deeply, turn away, reach for the door.

And stop.

I turn back.

I know, I KNOW, that they are all in line, I’ve just straightened them again, but I have to check.

I start at the top, systematically align each piece, the conker last.

Finished, I go to leave.

And stop.

I turn back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 Comments
  1. That’s a bit like my “did I lock the door?” episodes. I like the reference to her OCD.

  2. It’s such a hard pattern to break, the mind just won’t let you no matters what your rational side says. Well told story. I think he will be late

  3. Nice original take on the prompt. Can’t help but laugh a little at his situation, but I know you shouldn’t 🙂

  4. A clever piece of misdirection with her OCD

  5. Oh, poor guy. I can sympathize with her, too, I am always painfully early. I think you write his compulsion well, I hope he’ll find a way to deal with it.

  6. He’s like a modern day Sisyphus his task is never ending. Nice take

  7. It must be awful to suffer with OCD. People laugh, but it must be debilitating.

    • Thanks for reading Clare, and for commenting.
      I agree, I can’t imagine how painful it is. And yet some (like the “she” in this piece” casually say they are ” a bit OCD” without a thought of what they are saying…

  8. I can imagine her frustration at having to wait for him all the time… Not fun for either of them!

  9. Dear RG,

    I’ve worked with a couple of people who were truly OCD. I watched one man lock his car door and go back four times to make sure it was locked. You’ve captured the mentality well.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks Rochelle. I’ve never known anyone who suffers with it but I can only imagine the pain it causes. I tried to capture the flippant way some say they are “a bit OCD” without understanding what they are saying

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

