Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Roof

11 November, 2016

I barely know what day it is this week. I was off work from Monday to Wednesday, which always throws me and confuses my internal calendar. Plus I stayed up till 5.30AM to watch the election on TV so much of Wednesday was a blur. Back to work on Thursday, complete with that “how do I do my job again?” feeling that I always get after a break.

Luckily, there is the metronome-like consistency of Rochelle‘s prompt email, the constant around which the week takes shape, to remind me of the day. This week’s pic

crook-roof

comes from FriFic regular and ace photographer Sandra Crook.

More writers participate in this weekly challenge than in any other online pic-based flash fiction prompt in the world (probably) and you can read the results here in what I’m sure the Spanish would call Ranaterra.

And just a little further down the page – in the next paragraph in fact – you can read my 100 words. Go on, give it a wee read, see what you think, and if you feel so inclined, leave a comment.

 

 

“I trust you enjoyed your visit to The Great Leader’s estate?” my guide asked, leading me through the grounds.

“His invitation was the greatest honour,” I replied, “and His audience a pleasure beyond compare.”

We both paused, reflected on His Glory.

I indicated a tower in front of us. “His talent and taste are peerless,” I said, “A single coloured roof amongst those of black reflects His unparalleled Majesty.”

“There is no coloured roof,” my guide said carefully, “The Great Leader would not allow such a thing.”

I looked again, saw black roofs. “Humblest apologies,” I said, “I was mistaken.”

 

 

26 Comments
  1. Hmmmm what is reality? Did he see it or not. Intriguing.

  2. What a clever piece!

  3. That has a puzzling and slightly sinister ring to it. Good one!

  4. Mike permalink

    We see what we think we should see. Nicely done and very topical

  5. Dear RG,

    I guess Thoreau was right, “It’s not what you’re looking at that matters, it’s what you see.” 😉 Intriguing piece and, as always, I look forward to your intros as much as I do your stories. I’m not disappointed.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Must agree with Rochelle; your intros are most entertaining!
    And this story leaves us pondering, which is a good thing!
    Well done, sir!

  7. That’s slightly creepy and provokes a whole host of questions!

  8. Sounds like The Great Leader will decide what we see!

  9. How very true. History is what the winner writes, and what you see is what your leader wants you to see. At least when you value your eye-sight. Great story, and I also enjoy your intros.

  10. Your story leaves me feeling slightly unbalanced – in a good way. Your intros are always a great part of your submissions. Keep it up.

  11. That is strange and wonderful at the same time. It leaves us intrigued as to what the truth is and why he’s seeing a different coloured roof

    • Thanks Micheal. I think the roof really is that different colour but his devotion to the Great Leader is such that if he is told the roof is black, he believes it is black

  12. Nice bit of twisted psychology here. It’s amazing what we can convince ourselves we haven’t seen when we have a Great Leader breathing down our necks. Hints of Big Brother – and Chairman Mao for me for some reason. Very smart and nicely told 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Well spotted – i had Big Brother in mind with this one

      • That level of psychological control is terrifying, isn’t it? And yet all you have to do is look around the world and you’ll find it. Nice write

  13. Another good intro. I guess in some places a person wouldn’t dare admit to seeing something forbidden. Wise move. Good writing, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

