Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Door

25 November, 2016

I nearly didn’t post this week. I got Rochelle‘s email as normal, with this week’s prompt pic

ceayr-purple-door

courtesy of FF regular CE Ayr, and I thought it would be a breeze. A door, what writer can’t manage 100 words about a door? Well, very nearly this writer. And I’m not competely happy with what I did eventually scrape out.

But that’s not the first time, I’ve Published With Doubt before. But this week, it’s my 200th TRG FriFic and I wanted to post something worthy of the number, and hence I almost skipped this week and hoped that next week I would write a better piece. Being a writer though, I can never really be confident that I will ever write anything decent ever again, the feeling is always there that this time I have emptied the well. So I pubished, despite my reservations.

Feel free to not read me this week and go straight to Frogtopia where you will find countless links to stories better than mine. If you really want to see them, though, my words follow. Read them if you must but I warn you they’re not that good. Comment if you like, too, and tell me why they didn’t work for you…

 

I walk the vast garden for the first time since Gran’s funeral, since her house became mine. Past the flower beds, I reach the stone wall with its purple wooden door, locked and chained.

Whenever, in childhood, I asked her what was beyond it, she would ask what I imagined was there. I pictured meadows, castles, mountains, secret worlds. Smiling, she would say, “If that’s what you see, that’s what’s there.”
And now the key is mine. I can open the door, discover the truth, dissolve my childhood imaginations.

I return to the house. The key stays in my pocket.

 

23 Comments
  1. That child has grown into a wise man, then. Of course, there might be a small fortune behind that door… in the material sense.

    • And while the door remains shut, that small fortune and all the childhood dreams remain there, theoretically speaking.
      Thanks for reading Sandra

  2. I think you did yourself justice there. There are some questions that have no answers, and there are some where anticipation is better than knowing

    • Thanks for reading Neil. I guess the narrator is content enough not to need to know the answer but to live with the imagination of what it might be

  3. Clearly not a gambling man! Great story

    My story is called Sally’s Secret

  4. Dear RG,

    I suppose some things are better left to the imagination. I’m glad you didn’t pass this week’s prompt by. Lovely story. Of course I’m curious to know what’s behind the door. But I suppose some things are better left to the imagination. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Rochelle.
      I’m glad you enjoyed it, I wasn’t sure about it. Until the door opens, anything you want can be and is behind it, opening it will remove all that imagination. Will the reality be better? The narrator prefers to stick and not twist I think 🙂

  5. Surprised you are so down on your story, a simple tale, well told, with a nice moral in there about keeping some things a mystery. Nicely done.

  6. Congrats to your 200th. I can’t compare my writing to yours, but I’ve often found that stories where I thought ‘this is not so great, but I have nothing better, out with it’ got some amazing reviews. Your story is lovely with a wonderful character and a very wise narrator.

    • Thanks for your very kind comments. I wasn’t sure this story was good enough, but some readers have enjoyed it so maybe there was more to it than I first thought.

  7. Oh I really like this, I think it works perfectly. The unknown and the memory is perfect love.

  8. It’s a beautiful story! Sheesh you are awfully hard in yourself.

  9. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    Very poignant story. I’m so glad he chose not to open the door and wanted to keep his memories safe.

  10. michael1148humphris permalink

    I enjoyed this story it reminded me of Aesop’s Fables

  11. However, hard you tried to divert us I read on and enjoyed, particularly the sentiment and the truth of it. I’m glad the door stayed shut

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Michael. The consensus seems to be that keeping the door shut was the right decision. I’m not sure I would resist the temptation if it was me.

  12. That was a good story and nothing to worry about. Congratulations on your 200th story! I wonder if he’ll ever open the door. Good writing, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

