Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers on Thursday – Diner

22 December, 2016

Christmas is a time for tradition and, since the big day is less than a week away, I went to Debenhams in town for a spot of shopping. I visited Santa’s grotto as usual, handed him my list. “What would you like for Christmas this year TRG?” he asked me in between Hoing. “Oh, the usual,” I said, “world peace, an end to all hunger and suffering, a decent FA Cup run for Saints this year.” I made to move on, then another thought hit me. “And if you could arrange it,” I asked the big man, “a regular supply of 100 words for every FriFic.” “I’ll see what I can do,” he nodded, scratching his beard knowingly.

I doff my paper cracker hat to the man in red, because he has stepped up. In response to Roger Bultot‘s prompt pic

diner-roger-bultot

in Rochelle‘s email this week, a flash fiction tale appeared in my head, ready formed. Well I say ready formed, my knowledge of American Football is nil so I needed the assistant of Santa’s little Google for some of the detail, but the bulk of it arrived in my head gift-wrapped with a red bow. My 100 words are below, give them a read if you like and maybe leave a comment too.

If you want to read the other stories under the tree this week, head on over to Frogtopia where I understand there is fruit punch and eggnog for all, and chestnuts are roasting on an open fire.

Have a good Christmas everyone, and may the person of your dreams come to you carrying the mistletoe of destiny.

 

 

Friends told Eddie he was crazy to open a diner so near Gillette Stadium; who would go there outside game days? But Eddie, native Bostonian, lifelong Patriots fan, knew his food was so good that people would come every day. And every morning, they queued before the doors opened.

Soon he opened a second diner with the same name on I-90 near Framingham, and that too was packed, every day.

“I’m opening a third,” he told his customers, “but further afield. New York.”

“Good idea,” one nodded, “but use a different name. What Jets fan would eat in Patriots Diner?”

 

 

28 Comments
  1. Dear RG,

    I must confess that I look forward to your intros as much as I do your stories. You made a touchdown with both this week. Don’t ask me anything else about American Football. I live here and I know precious little (and care even less) about it. Great story.

    Holiday Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle, I’m glad you enjoy the intros, sometimes they take me longer to write than the posts they introduce!
      Happy festivities of the season to you!

  2. Funnily enough when I read Patriots I thought American Football team too – I just didn’t have the inclination to do my Google research for a story! Paper hats off to you, sir, and a Merry Christmas 🙂

    • Well I only really had to Google where the Patriots play (I didn’t even know what town!) and who their rivals are. The rest came pre-written.
      Merry Christmas to you too Iain 🙂

  3. Probably good advice on the name. But in this country, we ‘line up’, Pal.

    • Darn, my englishness sneaked in. And I can’t change it because it will screw up my wordcount! Ah well, I’ll leave it in and have another Gin.
      Happy Christmas Ted

  4. Ah Santa at Debenhams – that took me back!

  5. For a non American football connoisseur, you sure got this all right! Fun read, TRG!

  6. I think a change of name would be wise… but who knows, maybe location away from the stadium would work better.

  7. That actually has some merit. I’d like to see a Chiefs Bar and grill in KC. Even if the team does well or sucks to the hilt, at least the food will be good enough — we hope.

    Merry Christmas, TRG!

  8. I smiled at the beginning, and laughed out loud at the end. The intro commentary was as entertaining as the story itself. I think I should ask Santa to give me 100 words for FF every Friday too…

  9. A delightful take on the prompt, although I’m with Rochelle, I know little about American football. You did a great job with this story.

  10. Definitely will need to be the Jets Diner. Great take!

  11. Loved the intro and the story both. Haha about Patriots Diner. 🙂 I didn’t even think of that, but yeah you could have some problems in some areas. 😉

  12. You really did your research for this story, RG. Good writing. 🙂 — Suzanne

  13. I hope you had a merry Christmas and a happy new year! I’ve been enjoying reading your posts.

Speak Your Brains!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

