Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Bunker

20 January, 2017

I’m not one to interfere or comment on another nation’s politics. After all, there was a war 200-odd years ago over whether Americans wanted Brits poking their nose into affairs across the pond. So I apologise for my FriFic this week.

I never read anybody else’s works before I post as I don’t want to be influenced so I don’t know how many others replied to this week’s prompt pic

dale-rogerson2

from the viewfinder of Dale Rogerson and the outbox of Rochelle with a similar theme. But given the big news event of the day, I suspect I won’t be the only one. Feel free to ignore my story and go straight to Frogtopia and read everyone else’s.

 

 

Sorry to interrupt Mr President, you need to come with us.

What? A security drill? On my second day?

No sir, this is realworld. Your tweet today about Korea has created… problems. We need to get to the bunker.

 

The door slams securely shut.

 

Are the video feed and simulated communications prepared?

Yes Mr Vice President.

And that door is guarded twenty-four seven?

With our lives Sir. And the time lock is set. Nobody is going in or out for four years.

Thank you gentlemen, let’s get to work. First order of business, let’s try that election one more time.

 

 

 

38 Comments
  1. If only…..! Quite interesting. I wonder if the current president of The Gambia was thinking on the same lines as with the newly elected Adama Barrow when he didn’t want to go?

  2. Hahaha! That’s actually pretty funny in spite of what happened in 1776. 😉

    Five out of five Hail, Britannias.

  3. Dear TRG,

    I really wish he’d close his Twitter account. The rest of my comments I’ll leave at the door. I appreciated your intro and enjoyed your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. As another non US… I feel the same caution as you (or not)… I wonder if we will list “The 3AM Tweet”, in the same way as the shots in Sarajevo…

    • I think the next four years have lots of life- and world-changing moments. Hopefully not all involve Archdukes being shot and all that follows…

  5. It would be very funny, if it were not quite so worrying. Someone had to do it, and there were surprisingly few on this theme, I thought. Well done.

  6. Also a non-American here… and of all the ones related to this week’s event, yours is right up my alley! Very enjoyable and maybe a tad wished for…

  7. Has a war been started with a tweet yet? That is definitely an achievable goal for the Trump presidency. A scary laugh here.

  8. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    Like other have said, “If only”. Thanks for taping into the wishful think of so many people.

  9. If only . . . .

  10. Nice imaginative take and humorous with it

  11. I too would say if only but that vice president is pretty scary also!

  12. Ha, ha. I love the way people are betting on how long it’ll be and the way the tweets are corrected. His assistant wore a suit to the Inauguration that looked like a British colonial soldier’s uniform. Things are getting weirder and weirder especially with the “alternate facts”. 😀 — Suzanne

    • I’m amazed at how we have reached a point where phrases like “alternate facts” and “post-truth” abound. Whatever happened to reasoned debate and actual truth and lies?

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

