Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Chair

10 February, 2017

Wednesday’s email is without doubt one of the highlights of my week. Because that’s when Rochelle‘s email pings into the inbox, and the FriFic headscratch begins. This week was the turn of FF legend Ted Strutz to have his pic featured

mystery-chair-ted-strutz

and within minutes, and with little digital persuasion required, a plot appeared in my head. So I thought I’d better write it down, give it a polish and then share it with you. It’s following shortly, just after this reminder to paddle over to Frogtopia to read everyone else’s 100 words.

Right then, here goes…

 

 

“We’ve had floods before,” Will grumbled, “I didn’t leave then and I’m not leaving now.” But he must have known this time would be worse; despite his blustering, he allowed himself to be persuaded into the car.

At the shelter, the rain on the roof was deafening. We were powerless to do anything but hope. “It’s just a shower,” Will shrugged.

Three days later, when the floods had receded, we returned. A single chair sat, alone and defiant, where Will’s home had been.

“See?” he said, “I could’ve stayed right here in my chair, and I would have been fine.”

 

 

 

28 Comments
  1. Priceless. I see you haven’t lost it.

  2. Optimists! You have to love them

  3. Fun? I think not… What a hoot this optimist is…

  4. Hahaha! Humor in difficult situations always crops up. I see it a lot of times.

    Nice work, T!

  5. Lots of stubborn old men generated by this prompt 🙂

  6. Ha, that’s an optimistic way to look at it, determined to be proved right. Nice one.

  7. Now there’s an optimist for you.

  8. I enjoyed this, blind optimism t its finest. Made me chuckle

  9. Ever the optimist. Good tale.

  10. Dear TRG,

    I love Will’s indomitable spirit. Thanks for the chuckle. I went for humor this week, aiming a lot of it at our Ted Strutz. I hope you’ll stop by for a read.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. Ha! You have to admire his spirit. A great take on the prompt.

  12. michael1148humphris permalink

    I am singing – always look on the bright side.🙂

  13. That’s so funny, and people like Will really do exist. I love the last line.

  14. Wow, hard headed much Will? Lol

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

Honie Briggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Exploring the past to find the future.

Darwin on the rocks and around the world

Photography and travel blog

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

