Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Rest

28 April, 2017

Did you know that 47% of people don’t fact-check anything they read on the internet?

Did you know that 62% of statistics used to back up any online argument are made up?

And that those statistics make any claims 54% more believable?

No I didn’t know any of these number either, not till I made them up just now.

 

There is a lot of Fake News out there, people, question everything, take nothing at face value. Is there really a thing called FriFic? Does Rochelle really send a prompt email every week with a pic like this?

Did Liz Young really take this pic? Do writers from around the world gather in Frogtopia to share their weekly works? And are the claims of a wordcount limit of 100 in the world of FriFic true? Don’t take my word for any of this, I am an unreliable source. 86% of the stuff I write is made up.

Like my 100 words this week for example. They’re 100% fiction:

 

Our family’s corner of the cemetery is quietly restful. Secluded behind high hedges and overgrown birch trees, it’s always peaceful, especially during the late evenings – my preferred time to walk among my relatives.

My ancient bones and fading muscles aren’t what they once were, and when I spend time here visiting, I am grateful for the bench that was placed here many years ago.

I like to sit, to watch the eternally slow changing of the seasons; the way the trees die back in winter but return to verdant life again each spring.

It brings me comfort as I rest.

 

20 Comments
  1. The first part… so true. People just take too much for true that isn’t. The second part – your story – I loved it. I can picture the scene and it is a serene one with much peace. May we all face the end of our journey here with such grace and poise. 🙂

  2. That was so lovely, Sir. Look at you getting all warm and cozy!
    As for your intro, it is appallingly true…I know this with 100% conviction! 😉

  3. Dear TRG,

    Abraham Lincoln is quoted as having said you can believe everything that’s posted on Facebook. So we have it on good authority.
    I enjoyed your peaceful piece as well.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. I find cemeteries peaceful as well. Very well written. I wanted to read more.

  5. A lovely post. Such a gentle vibe. I can really feel the peace here

  6. michael1148humphris permalink

    I would say spot on. In both sections this week, It is a good week to read the offerings on FF.

  7. I feel a comfort in the fact that this is 100 percent fiction… 🙂

  8. Yes..it is like that.

  9. Your story fits the prompt perfectly. Love your writing.

Speak Your Brains!

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

elmowrites

Writing about writing

castelsarrasin

The work and activities of a writer/bargee

