Skip to content

Friday Fictioneers – Quiet

4 May, 2017

And lo, on the fifth day, he did writeth an hundredde words of fictionne and did publisheth them on his blog. And verily he did shareth his linke in the Promised Land of Frogtopia.

That’s right folks, it’s Friday again, and that means that it’s time to write in response to Rochelle‘s email. This week’s pic

comes from FF regular (and usually first poster) Sandra Crook and I was tempted by the French flag to write something election-based. But after our 2015 election, and the 2016 Brexit referendum, and the 2016 US election, and the 2017 French presdential election (first round), and the announcement of the 2017 snap election, and the upcoming 2017 French presdential election (second round)…. well, I’m suffering from election fatigue and I don’t want to encourage them.

So I wrote this instead…

 

For years those two weeks in rural France, away from work emails and management deadlines and office politics, were an island of peace. Strolling through the tranquil main square, near empty even at noon, was the highlight of the Summer. “When we’re rich,” I would say, “when I’m published, we should move here.”
The royalties on my fourth novel paid off the mortgage in England.

The advance on the fifth bought the farmhouse.

But as I pace through the silent square, there is no inspiration. I miss the bustle, I crave the noise, I need the spark that life ignites.

 

 

32 Comments
  1. michael1148humphris permalink

    We all make these mistakes, hope they can put things right. Loved the comment about election overloads

  2. Should’ve kept it as a holiday home. Personally, I would be quite happy to escape the bustle and live in France – but that’s straying into election result reaction again, so I’ll leave it at that! 🙂

  3. Exactly! We often want to run away from it all, but when we reach there we see what we have/had there – the drive and inspiration to create and acjieve Something!

  4. Much better than an election piece!
    Strange where our inspiration comes from or what our habits necessitate. Well done!

  5. Oh I do thank you from sparing us from anything election (what a hoot that intro was!)
    There is nothing worse than being convinced of something and then finding out it isn’t quite what we thought it would be…

  6. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover permalink

    A great story of “be careful what you ask for.”

  7. I cannot write in silence either… I need the rush of everything else to write.

  8. You’ve made me green with envy. Even if I haven’t written a book, still…
    I can feel with the narrator: it’s just too quiet to think. 😀

  9. Dear TRG,

    As they say, be careful what you wish for. Thank you for sparing us politics. I’ve had enough of that to last three lifetimes and have some left over. Well written as always.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. Loved your intro and your story was thoughtful

  11. mickwynn2013 permalink

    Ha be careful what you wish for. I think he needs to split his time between the two places.

  12. Acutely observed. I’m in pretty much the same frame of mind myself, these days.

  13. That old saying, “Be careful what you wish for.” seems true in this case. I hope his muse finds him again. Good writing, RG. 🙂 — Suzanne

  14. A lovely take on the prompt.

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

