Skip to content

I bet you’re all wondering

22 June, 2017

how Monday night went with Fiona. Well, very nicely thank you. We had a great evening at the pub, made even more entertaining by the fact the band were rubbish. Followed by a stroll home across the common and sitting on the bench at the duck pond as midnight came and went. Chatting, enjoying each other’s company, being.

The constant texting and messaging has slowed of course, it always does as things settle down, but for once that isn’t causing me the normal doubts and paranoia. Normally this would cause me to assume she is going off me, that the early flurries of exciting new romance is dulling and we are destined to part, the relationship a bright flash rather than a longer-lasting candle flame. Thats not to say it isn’t all going South of course, it could well end up going along that familiar path, but for now I’m not tied up by the fear, the assumption, that it will.

And the fact that we can’t see each other that often is good for me, I think. It allows me to keep a degree of emotional distance. Not that I don’t miss her, and not that I want to shut myself off, but this way I won’t find myself falling too fast and too soon. So for now we are making do with texts, video messaging, video calls and the occasional meeting in person where we can. At the risk of allowing the bedroom door to open just an inch, even though we aren’t spending a huge amount of time together doesn’t mean there isn’t an x-rated element to the relationship aswell. Ain’t technology wonderful?

So things are ticking along in a healthy way for now. I’m sure there will be bumps ahead, I haven’t met her daughter yet for example, and she doesn’t know about me yet, but we will worry about the bumps when they occur. At least if we are travelling slowly we are less likely to cause damage when they arrive.

Why am I telling you all this? Why do you care? Short answer, I doubt that you do.  I doubt you’re reading. But as with so much (if not all) of the self-indulgent introspection that occasionally gets posted on this blog, it’s there for me to explore my thoughts and emotions and to order them and understand them. The Choons and the FriFric are written with an audience in mind, these ones are for me.

For now, all is fairly rosy at Reclining Towers

 

6 Comments
  1. I care, and I am happy for you. Happy for you both. I think slow is good and I like your attitude, certainly different from the anxiety ridden mess we are all used to in these situations. My only advice… just be yourself… it is working well so far. Thanks for the update.

  2. Of course we care, slow and steady wins the race apparently, probably best she doesn’t know about all of us cheering you on, ready to grab the cheerleading pom poms at a moments notice lol,

    • Thank you Paula. Or at the very least, slow and steady postpones the disastrous ending. No intention of telling her about TRG or you let reading yet, but if/when I do i’ll let you know

Speak Your Brains!

J. E. Kennedy

Fantastical Fiction

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

ART So Provident

Art that provokes

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

SNIPS & SNAPS

from a Southampton Old Lady

This, that and the other thing

Looking at life through writing and photography

Silverstein Potter

and other fictitious ramblings: A blog by J. W. Nicholson

HonieBriggs

SERIOUSLY!

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

onethousandandtwo

Looking at Infinity

Pen 'n' Tonic

Simply writing when inspiration strikes.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

